A post from me and my vanity

This year for Halloween I’ll be dressed as a patient. My self-deprecating adolescent joke about wanting the fat from my stomach pushed up into my breasts is finally coming true. After some good discussion with Dr. Hazen, with my friends and with myself one more surgery for the sake of feeling better about how I look seems worth it. I decided that since I am going to live with the results of this reconstruction for a very long time I want them to look good. I don’t want them to dictate what I wear or how I feel. For the most part I feel really good about them and about the process that I’ve gone through. My breasts are the punch line to many well timed jokes, they’re the topic of heartfelt discussions, and they punctuate my personal evolution and quest towards being a better, healthier, happier and more compassionate human.

Again, I am reminded of how lucky I am. My friends, new and old, have offered help and support without hesitation. And, as usual, I am at a loss for how to express my sincere gratitude.

I will try to post again before the 31st if I get any new information about the specifics, but will certainly let you all know when I’m out of surgery for, what I absolutely hope is, my last procedure

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A post from me and my vanity

  1. Linda Birkinbine says:

    Will keep you in my thoughts and prayers! Sending hugs!

  2. Hooray! I am so happy for you that this will be done and then OVER!

Leave a Reply

